MunichFeb07 - TransRegio

Skip to topic | Skip to bottom

TransRegio


Start of topic | Skip to actions

Munich Junior Researchers Meeting, 21-23 February 2007

Hosting Institute: MPA Munich

Registration deadline Monday 5th February

The meeting is intended for non-PI's involved in the Dark Universe research projects to become aware of what people at other institutes are doing, and to begin discussing scientific questions currently involved in the TR projects.

The Problem:

  • Junior Researchers do not know much about the details of TR-33, i.e. Junior Researchers do not know the persons involved into the TR-33 and what they are doing to achieve the TR-33 goals.

Goals of the meeting:

  • To know the people within the network and what they are doing.
  • To START exchanges of information WITHIN the different scientific areas
  • To START exchanges of information BETWEEN the different scientific areas

Results, participants & discussions

The results, further discussions, and a list of participants can be found here.

Schedule

# Wednesday February 21. Sec. 1. Introduction: Who is doing what?

5 minutes talks given by all participants (you) about their specific work and near future goals. The work of the TR-33 people who can not attend the meeting should be summarized by their colleagues coming from the same institute.

  • 09:00 - 10:00 Registration
  • 10:00 - 10:30 Introduction to the meeting: goals and program
  • 10:30 - 11:00 Coffee break
  • 11:00 - 12:30 Talks
  • 12:30 - 14:00 Lunch and free time for discussion
  • 14:00 - 15:30 Talks
  • 15:30 - 16:00 Coffee break
  • 16:00 - 17:30 Talks
  • 17:30 - 18:00 Creation of the working groups

# Thursday February 22. Sec. 2. Going into details: Who is doing what in my field?

People will be divided into groups according to their working subject. This will give a concrete opportunity to know in detail what is it going on in the field we are working in and hopefully to begin new collaborations. Each group have to prepare a talk for the day after. We suggest the division presented below. Of course you are free to join the group you prefere:

  1. Theory & Simulations
  2. Observational constraints: SN, CMB, Cosmic shear
  3. Observational constraints: Galaxy clusters and galaxies

  • 09:30 - 10:30 Discussion by groups
  • 10:30 - 11:00 Coffee break
  • 11:00 - 12:30 Discussion by groups
  • 12:30 - 14:00 Lunch and free time for discussion
  • 14:00 - 15:30 Discussion by groups
  • 15:30 - 16:00 Coffee break
  • 16:00 - 17:30 Discussion by groups - Preparation of a summary talk
  • 19:00 Delivery from the Hochbruck U6 subway station for the SOCIAL DINNER

# Friday February 23. Sec. 3. Global view: What are the different groups doing?

The groups should summarize a picture of the working progress in all different areas. Interactions between different groups are encouraged in the exchange in expertises, codes or whatever is necessary.

  • 09:30 - 10:30 2 Summary talks
  • 10:30 - 11:00 Coffee break
  • 11:00 - 11:30 1 Summary talk
  • 11:30 - 12:30 Discussion of the results of the meeting and planning of the next meetings
  • 12:30 - 13:30 Lunch (for those who want to stay)

Only this day is open to PIs.

Participants Talk on February 21th

All slides can be found here.

All TRR33 participants are supposed to give a 5 minutes talk to introduce them-self and their work related to dark energy-matter (TRR33!).

Presentations should be sent in pdf format, before 15-02-07 to maturi@ita.uni-heidelberg.de

We'd like to have the presentations in a standard format (as follows) since we will produce a document with all presentations, which will help to better follow and manage the amount of information of the first day.

Talk Format:
- Slide 1: Full Name, Picture of your face (mandatory), Institute, TR33 Project and your PI, your favorite hobby (mandatory)
- Slide 2: What you and your group want to achieve...
- Slide 3: What you have done right now...
- Slide 4: What is your next step/goal...
- Slide 5: If you have a problem, present it and ask for help

Use landscape format and please, if possible, write in black on white background and use as less formulas as possible (forget about details, focus on the concepts, and remember that the audience goes from theoreticians to observers).

Working groups

Theory & Simulations

Dent, Thomas ITP Heidelberg A1 T.Dent@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de
Stern, Steffen ITP Heidelberg A1 S.Stern@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de
Behrend, Juliane ITP Heidelberg A1, B3, Friend behrend@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de
Mota, David F. ITP Heidelberg A1, B1, B4 D.Mota@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de
Minamitsuji, Masato ASC Munich A2 masato@theorie.physik.uni-muenchen.de
Vanchurin, Vitaly LMU Munich A2, B2 vitaly@cosmos.phy.tufts.edu
Krause, Axel LMU Munich A3 krause@theorie.physik.uni-muenchen.de
Poletanovic, Branislav University of Bonn C4 brani@th.physik.uni-bonn.de
Robbers, Georg ITP Heidelberg B1 g.robbers@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de
Santos, Nuno M. C. ITP Heidelberg B1 n.santos@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de
Schruba, Andreas ITP Heidelberg C3 a.schruba@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de
Pettorino, Valeria SISSA C3,B4 friend pettorin@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de
Baldi, Marco MPA Garching C3 mbaldi@mpa-garching.mpg.de
Vogelsberger, Mark MPA Garching C1 C3 friend? vogelsma@mpa-garching.mpg.de
Grossi, Margherita MPA Garching C1 margot@mpa-garching.mpg.de

Observational constraints: SN, CMB, Cosmic shear

Mignone, Claudia ITA Heidelberg B3,B5 friend cmignone@ita.uni-heidelberg.de
Frommert, Mona MPA Garching B4 friend mona@mpa-garching.mpg.de
Jasche, Jens MPA Garching B4 jjasche@mpa-garching.mpg.de
Waizmann, Jean-Claude ITA Heidelberg B4 waizmann@ita.uni-heidelberg.de
Eifler, Tim AIfA? Bonn B5 tim.eifler@astro.uni-bonn.de
Hetterscheidt, Marco AIfA? Bonn B5 mhetter@astro.uni-bonn.de
Hofbauer, Florian USM Munich B5 flo@usm.uni-muenchen.de
Lerchster, Mike USM Munich B5 mike@usm.lmu.de
Pielorz, Jasmin AIfA? Bonn B5 pielorz@astro.uni-bonn.de
Schrabback, Tim AIfA? Bonn B5 tim@astro.uni-bonn.de

Observational constraints: Galaxy clusters and galaxies

Dietrich, Joerg ESO Garching B6 jdietric@eso.org
Grillo, Claudio ESO Garching B6 cgrillo@eso.org
Holger, Israel AIfA? Bonn B6 hisrael@astro.uni-bonn.de
Maturi, Matteo ITA Heidelberg B6 maturi@ita.uni-heidelberg.de
Melchior, Peter ITA Heidelberg B6 friend pmelchior@ita.uni-heidelberg.de
Rzepecki, Jarek ESO Garching B6 jrzepeck@eso.org
Cappelluti, Nico MPE Garching B7 cappelluti@mpe.mpg.de
Muehlegger, Martin MPE Garching B7 mmuehleg@mpe.mpg.de
Kitaura, Francisco MPA Garching B7,B8 kitaura@mpa-garching.mpg.de
Koehler, Ralf MPE, USM Munich B8 rkoehler@mpe.mpg.de
Pannella, Maurilio MPE Garching B8 maurilio@mpe.mpg.de
Saglia, Roberto MPE Garching B8 saglia@mpe.mpg.de
Balestra, Italo MPE Garching B- balestra@mpe.mpg.de

Registration

Please register before Monday 5th February. Send an Email to Matteo: maturi@ita.uni-heidelberg.de, with the following information (use this format!)

| Name | Affiliation | Projects \
| e-mail | Telephone |
eg:
| Maturi, Matteo | ITA Heidelberg | B6 \
| maturi@ita.uni-heidelberg.de | 0049 (0)6221 548983

Registration Fee

  • Munich people (ESO,MPA,LMU): 0,- E (zero)
  • The others: 75,- E

It includes 5 coffee breaks, 3 lunches in the MPA canteen and the social dinner (Munich people have to pay the 3 lunches themselves).

The registration fee will be covered by TRR33 money, see the Funding section below (you will receive a receipt for this).

Cash payment in Munich.

Hotels (Bed & Breakfast)

Single room Double room
Am Park Hotel Garching center 69,- E/night/person 89,- E/night
Etap Hotel Garching Hochbruck 53,- E/night/person 69,- E/night

Both hotels are on the subway line U6 which connects the MPA to Munich. For reservations send an Email to Marco Baldi mbaldi@mpa-garching.mpg.de, you have to say if you want a single room or a double room (+ your room-mate).

Travel Information

For travel information you can visit the MPA web-page: travel info.

Funding

  • Bonn & Heidelberg Institutes: TRR-33 will cover all travel expenses including hotels and the subscription fee of all people associated with the TRR-33. Ask to your local Transregio-PI (of the group you belong to). TRR-33 will NOT cover the Food&Beverage expenses because of the DFG regulations. The only chance to account for these expenses is through local institute (University) funds. Ask your PI! In any case we will try to provide Food&Beverage resources during the workshop!

  • Munich Institutes: You can not have any TRR-33 money (TRR33 can only pay for travel expenses), BUT for you the workshop subscription is for free. The only chance to account for other expenses is through your institute funds. Ask your PI!

to top